Hard Boiled Eggs in the Oven

After having more than the usual amount of irritation peeling some hard boiled eggs recently, I managed to find this article. Lifehacker, in general, has some pretty useful tips, but this one? Oh good freaking grief! If I can peel those eggs more easily, I’m all over this. At the same time, yea, I write this knowing that I had intended to make a really good post on journalism and fact checking but….there’s only so much time in the day and maybe if we all had a little more time because we weren’t wrestling an egg out of its shell we might get more done.
The gist of the article is put the eggs on the rack, turn the oven on to 325F, and bake for 30 minutes. Afterwards, put the eggs in ice water. After they’ve cooled enough to handle, peel them, and put the unshelled eggs into more ice water to completely cool for use. (It’s sort of an odd thing, but still warm egg salad is a particular treat, in my book.)

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hm…eeeeehhh..this works. I’ll give it that much. Was it fantastically better than the pot of boiling water? I don’t think so. I didn’t find, with three test eggs, the shelling to be all that much easier. The taste of the eggs I found to be worse. There’s a slight burned flavor, in fact, where the rods were touching the eggs. I’ll stick to the other method. It works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

