World of Warcraft playing Democratic candidate

Politico had this article about a World of Warcraft playing Democratic candidate in Maine. I played WoW for several years (I’m much better now). My /played is more than enough to make me a bit ill when I stop and think about it. Frankly, some people were fortunate simply to have avoided deep vein thrombosis. So, yea, there’s a steep time commitment, or at least there used to be. It depended upon how serious one wanted to be about doing end game.

I have no idea how serious a player she is. Since she’s not already level 90, I’m going to speculate she’s more a casual player. This is a good thing, because if she were to be a hard core raider? In that case, the Maine Republicans might at least be justified in asking, “How much time away from the game do you think she has to devote to being an elected official?” And I’d have to say, “Well…fair point.”

But just because she’s playing? Or just because there’s a few lines that someone finds objectionable? Really?! General chat is hardly the best place to view humanity at its highest. Yes, I’m quite sure there are, and I’ve seen several, great chats started. However, by and large? It’s drivel. Lachowicz is actually kind of amusing in her hyperbole. Even her opponent considers to be mudslinging and is not greatly impressed.

 Lachowicz responded to the Republican campaign ad:

  “What’s really weird is that the Republicans are going after my hobbies instead of talking about their record while they’ve been running Augusta for the last two years. Instead of talking about what they’re doing for Maine people, they’re making fun of me for playing video games. Did you know that more people over the age of 50 play video games than under the age of 18? As a gamer, I’m in good company with folks like Jodie Foster, Vin Diesel, Mike Myers, and Robin Williams. Maybe it’s the Republican Party that is out of touch.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

